When I met my best friend, Marion, in college, she had never seen a single horror flick in her entire life.

 

 

 

 

I was the girl showing friends Pet Sematary in junior high, and was appalled she had shunned a genre so beloved to me.

 

 

So I made her a deal – watch Nightmare on Elm Street with me – my favorite horror film, and the best horror film ever, in my opinion – and if she wasn’t blown away by it, I would never force her to watch another horror movie again.

 

 

 

 

She consented after some debate, and we sat to watch it, me with overwhelming excitement at getting to share one of my favorite films with one of my favorite people, her with extreme trepidation for the upcoming first time experience.

 

 

 

 

Needless to say, Marion absolutely loved Nightmare on Elm Street – especially Heather Langenkamp’s number one badass Final Girl, Nancy, and her determination to live and beat big bad Freddy Krueger. A character who, when questioned why she is perusing a book on booby traps, obliquely quips “I’m into survival”. 

 

 

 

And with that one line, Marion was sold.

 

 

She asked me if kick ass women besting the villain was a theme in horror, and I said yes. So, we could watch these films as a kind of training course in how to survive, she posited. And I said absolutely. The more movies we watched, the better chance we had at becoming the Final Girl.

 

 

 

And that’s how the two of us decided to spend our senior year of college watching every horror movie in the horror section of our local video store, Gold Star Video. We ended up watching over 200 films that year.

 

 

Not just watching, mind you, but keeping them all tracked and logged in our Horror Movie Notebook. We covered the notebook with our favorite horror movie images and filled it up with page after page of obsessive horror nerd rantings, creating our own rating system and noting down our favorite lines and moments in each movie.

 

 

 

 

And now, thanks to the Indie Popcorn Network, Marion and I will be co-hosting a weekly podcast called Horror Movie Survival Guide – where we revisit our Horror Movie Notebook and re-watch the films from our senior year of college, covering a different film each episode.

 

 

 

I am so excited to dip back into the notebook, and talk about the films I love so dearly, and specifically what lessons each film teaches on survival.

 

 

 

 

You can listen to the first episode, “I’m Into Survival”, discussing Wes Craven’s 1984 masterpiece, Nightmare on Elm Street, at the link below. 

 

 

 

You can also follow Horror Movie Survival Guide on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, where we will be posting new episodes each week.

 

 

Give it a listen and send in your opinions – always happy to hear from fellow horror hounds! 

 

Listen here: 

 

 

http://horrormoviesurvivalguide.buzzsprout.com/104713/532361-nightmare-on-elm-street-i-m-into-survival