Since I was a little girl, I’ve only ever been interested in music from the 50’s, 60’s and 70’s. My favorite cassettes growing up were Ricky Nelson, Jan & Dean and The Monkees.

 

The first “modern” band I ever liked was Stray Cats – because they looked and sounded like they were from the 50’s.

 

In high school I only listened to the oldies station & I started my lifelong obsession with The Beatles . So, needless to say, I think of myself of having a pretty deep and wide knowledge of music from those decades.

 

Lately I’ve been listening to an internet radio station called Retro Attic Rare Oldies Radio, which plays little known and obscure songs from the 50’s-late 70’s. I’ve heard a lot of the songs before, but there are quite a few that are new to me. A lot of these are terrible, and I don’t really feel badly that I don’t know them. 

 

But recently on the station I heard a song that I had never heard before that has been stuck in my head for weeks, and to me finding a new song that I like such a terrific delight.

 

Ariel is a one hit wonder (reaching #26 in the Billboard charts in 1977) from a singer named Dean Friedman. The song caught my attention because of the offbeat & quirky lyrics and I thought listening to his voice that it was Weird Al at first. 

 

The song is a classic love song, but the lyrics are peculiar, honest and realistic, the tune catchy as fuck, and I find his voice & phrasing charming. Such great harmonies, fun bass line – sax solo! What’s not to like? 

 

Is this song mind blowing? No.

 

But there is something about the song that just makes me feel happy. The cover of the album makes me happy too.  Look how shaggy and forlorn he is! Love it. 

 

 

So I thought I would share it with you. 

 

Have you heard this song before? 

 

 

If you haven’t, give it a listen and let me know what you think.  

 

Are there any songs that you have found recently that make you happy? 

 

Send them over!

 

I’m always open to finding new music – whether it be truly new, or just new to me. 

 

 

And a thank you to Dean Friedman for writing a song 40 years ago that makes a girl here in 2017 happy.