I feel like I need to give everyone an update of what’s been going on with the movie…sorry it’s so late, but I haven’t felt much like writing lately. Been in a kind of lethargic/super anxious haze waiting to see what will happen with Out of Print. 

 

This is all stream of consciousness so forgive me if things are a little slapdash. 

Man, I had no idea how brutal the whole film festival process was. As the film was rejected from festival after festival, my stress began to bulldoze higher and higher.

 

Sundance? No.

 

SXSW? No.

 

Hot Docs? No.

 

And so on and so forth. My redemption came in the form of the Sidewalk Film Festival, in Birmingham, Alabama where Out of Print will be premiering on August 23rd, followed by a panel discussing the importance of film preservation. My parents will be joining me, and I couldn’t be happier. Having them both there for my first feature film premiere is a fantastic feeling. I couldn’t have done it with out them. 

 

So, the film will premiere at Sidewalk, and then hopefully I can screen it at the New Beverly before the year is out!?

 

After that, who knows? More film festivals? Distribution? VOD stuff? A tour of revival cinemas with the film on 35mm?

 

Yes, It’s true, I was able to make a 35mm print of the film, thanks to the incredibly generous help of Digineg, Deluxe, Kodak and Fotokem. I actually have a 35mm print of Out of Print!! So so so happy, and still rather startled – I had no idea going into making this film that I would one day be able to shoot AND show it on FILM. 

 

While I have been sitting at home waiting for the rejection letters, like a draft dodger nervously checking the mailbox, I have been writing. When someone asks me what I am working on next, I want to be able to give them a wide range of options! So, in the works are: 

 

3 documentary pitches

 

3 feature films scripts

 

1 television show pitch

 

1 novel 

 

It’s been a strange year because after the thrill of the Kickstarter succeeding, filming the movie, editing and getting all the bits and pieces together, you send it out to be appraised and then it’s kind of out of your hands. Its hard to keep the enthusiasm going (myself as well as the fans).

 

 

The film was officially finished in 2013 and I don’t think I had watched it all the way the through for a couple of months. There was a screening at Fotokem of my print 2 weeks ago and I watched it and thought “Oh, no. This is all wrong. I made the wrong movie – I should have edited this and that……” and so on.

 

 

I’m sure every first time filmmaker goes through it. 

 

 

But I am so very excited to have it screen with a crowd – only close friends and family have seen the film so far – and i’m sure I will feel totally different about the film after that.

 

I hope it goes over well. 

 

I kind of feel like I am standing on the tippy-toe edge of a cliff, about to jump off  – and I have absolutely no idea what is waiting for me below.