Murphy’s Law is one of the reasons I have had such a hard time losing weight over the years. Anytime I mentally get in the right frame of mind, my body finds a way to screw it up.  I started this journey on June 1st, and when I checked in with you it was July 12 – and I was down 4 pounds. Well, now it is August 7, meaning I have been working out 5 days a week and eating better for over 2 months, and I have lost six pounds. SIX! I wasn’t expecting to lose 50 pounds in two months, but less than a pound a week is pretty lame. I am very discouraged about this. 

 

 

So discouraged that I went to see my doctor to check on what she thought the deal was. Well, she admitted, anti-depressants hinder weight loss. So essentially I have been spinning my wheels the last couple of months, and there was no real way for me to lose weight while on Effexor. You can see why one might be a tad upset about this.  I gotta tell ya that when you know working out is a effort in futility, it makes it pretty hard to be motivated. 

 

 

I’m not happy about possibly having to be on anti-depressants for the rest of my life, and even worse is when more are foisted on you. Wellbutrin, according to my doctor, is a better drug for losing weight on. Which means I will have to switch medications, and if any of you have been in the drug change-over boat before with me, you will know it is a unsteady vessel indeed.  Every drug reacts to different people in different ways, and it’s impossible to know what any drug will do for you, unless you try it. There is often a unpleasant period of adjustment to the new chemicals surging through your brain. I’m not looking forward to it. If anyone has any alternate ideas, throw em at me. 

 

 

BUT. I am not giving up. I am determined to become the super vixen I want to be.  Hopefully once I am off the Effexor the pounds will start to drop off like they should be.  Fingers crossed tight.