I have 5 days to raise over $40,000 on my kickstarter for my documentary. I know everyone says that the majority of the money comes in at the last-minute, and I am trying my very best to think positive, but I can’t help feel a needling sense of panic. 

 

People have started to ask me what I will do if the kickstarter fails, and I tell them I haven’t thought about it – and I haven’t. I feel like if I keep my eye on the prize, as it were, I can manifest it happening somehow. 

 

It has truly been an interesting ride so far. I have been overwhelmed with support in the form of emails, tweets, facebook posts and face to face conversation at the New Bev. I have been on more podcasts & given more interviews in the last three weeks that I ever thought possible. I have been thanking my lucky stars every night when I lay down, astounded at the positive response that this campaign has gotten. I want to say thank you to every single person who has helped me – in any way – donating, spreading the word, interviewing me, moral support, everything. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

 

I feel like I won’t be able to finally relax until the kickstarter is over on the 24th, and even then, who knows? Will I be happy because we succeeded and nervous about what lies ahead, or disgruntled and saddened that I wont be able to make the film after all? 

 

Earlier this week I made an allusion to the old Mickey Rooney/Judy Garland films where the answer to every problem was to “put on a show” to make that money they needed. Or maybe an 80’s montage where the money offered to the winner of that contest just happens to be the exact amount that’s needed to save the rec center. But the thing that worries me is that my life, sadly, isn’t a film. I have no idea if I am going to make this or not. But I knew that was the chance I was taking going in. 

 

Okay, positive thoughts. I guess that’s my final strategy. If everyone will just join me in thinking that the film will succeed, maybe we can manifest it into reality? I’d make a movie about that…