I can’t say that 2012 has been starting off particularly well for me. 

 

Aside from some automotive trouble, and the usual dire financial straits I am always in, I am finding myself frustrated frequently. 

 

I always dreamed of being a revolutionary, a la Abbie Hoffman, or some such sixties cool cat. But I am not confident or violent enough to challenge “the man” in such a way. Now I feel like I have become a revolutionary – albeit in a very very small way – in the fight to keep 35mm available. I should be over the moon, but instead I feel confused and conflicted. 

 

Lots of people have accused me of thinking digital is stupid, which I certainly don’t. I think it is an incredible medium for the independent filmmaker. The plain fact that anyone now has the ability to pick up a camera and shoot a film for pennies, and not have to worry about buying or developing film stock is astounding. I know that I can’t stop the future from happening, and that the future of cinema is digital. I am powerless against that fight, and that is something I have accepted. 

 

However, I DO believe that 35mm is a superior format to watch movies in a theater. That is my personal opinion, and according to my petition, one that over 8,000 people share. All I am asking is to let 35mm prints remain available to screen indefinitely. Little theaters are struggling all over the country, and I know I can’t save all of them, as much as I would like to. The destruction of independent businesses and the mono-globalization of large businesses makes me sad. When I drive past countless shopping centers with the same stores in them in hundreds of cities, it depresses me. I know this is something that I will only be seeing more and more of in the future, so I am trying very hard to get past it. 

 

I will always enjoy going to a single screen movie house over a multiplex. I will always prefer seeing a movie for the first time, on the big screen, in 35mm. While large corporations charge exorbitant amounts for movie tickets and audiences members become more and more inconsiderate of their fellow movie goers, independent theaters just become more and more precious. Thank god for the Alamo Draft House and their stringent no texting policy. Thank god for the Nuart, continuing to show Rocky Horror Picture Show weekly. Thank god for the Cinefamily, willing to take chances on films that no other theater will. 

 

The point is, if I have one, that I am more than happy to be the face of this revolution, or whatever it is, if people will actually listen to what I am saying and understand what it is I am really fighting for. Just embrace and preserve our past.  That is all. I thought it was a battle I could get everyone I know behind, but I was wrong. And though it is silly, it hurts. I love film and the New Beverly Cinema so so much, and when either of these things are threatened, I will do everything I can to fight back.  I’m afraid this position I have taken is going to have larger consequences than I first bargained for. But if movies have taught me anything, it is that I have to speak up for what I believe in and what is important to me – lets just hope this particular film has a happy ending.